possible to exclude files from ziping VB2005

Dec 14, 2010 at 9:56 PM
Edited Dec 14, 2010 at 9:57 PM

Is there some way to exclude files before it is added into the zip file. I'm using VB2005

I'm new to Dotnetzip and planning to use it in my program to zip a backup copy of contents of CF flash cards befor it is prepeard for new use.
I use the demo app Zipit as a base since I had hard time to find how to add multiple files and folders and this had it ready to be modified.
I want to exclude a file since it makes the backup zip big and is not important for later use of the backup zip files. This "big" file is only around 10MB But since
It may end up to have several of these backup files stored before it is copied over to another computer. It is fine if it could be as small as possible and remove unimportant files. 

Dec 17, 2010 at 5:48 PM

yes, you can specify critieria  fpr including or excluding files on the command line for zipit.exe

not sure if you are using VB2005 or not, since zipit itself is a working application.  you don't need to change it in order to use it.  Also zipit is written in C#, not VB. 

From the help message generated by zipit.exe, the selector is how you specify which files to include or not.  Snip:

<selector>           - a file selection expression.  Examples:
                          (name = *.txt) OR (name = *.xml)
                          (attrs = H) OR (name != *.xml)
                          (ctime < 2009/02/28-10:20:00)
                          (size > 1g) AND (mtime < 2009-12-10)
                          (ctime > 2009-04-29) AND (size < 10kb)

So I guess you'd want to do something like (name != 'LargeFileYouDontWant.eee') as a selection criterion.

Dec 18, 2010 at 8:12 AM

Thanks for answering.  In the dev kit zip  for Dotnet zip there is an example folder for VB. and the winform zipup. I called it Zipit by misstake. sorry.
 I think it is for VB2008, but i have copied it over to VB2005.