How do I...?

Nov 22, 2010 at 8:27 PM
Edited Nov 22, 2010 at 8:29 PM

Hello. Thank you for a very well maintained and documented project.

I am just beginning trying to write a basic zipper unzipper in VB 2008 EXPRESS, and have come across a situation that I can't seem to find an answer for even after looking through the examples and documentation.

Basically I want to offer the ability to choose between zipping an entire directory (which I can do) or just a file or selection of files using two radio buttons on my form.

Dim FolderSource As New FolderBrowserDialog
IF radiobuttonFOLDER.checked = True then
 Dim FolderName As String = Me.TextBoxSourcePath.Text
        FolderSource.SelectedPath = IIf(Directory.Exists(FolderName), FolderName, "c:\")
        FolderSource.ShowNewFolderButton = False
        If (FolderSource.ShowDialog = DialogResult.OK) Then
            FolderName = FolderSource.SelectedPath
            Me.TextBoxSourcePath.Text = FolderName
            TextBoxTargetPath.Text = (FolderName & ".zip")
        End If
'Create zip file code in here ElseIF IF radiobuttonFILE.checked = True then 'Code for selecting and zipping the selected FILES. <-- This is what I need help with End if

I can see in the examples that adding multiple files is easy, IF you use strongly typed file paths and file names.

How do I add multiple files that the user has selected at runtime?

If it possible you could write an example of this in the Documentation/examples please?

Many thanks

Rob

Coordinator
Nov 23, 2010 at 1:45 AM
Robbie73 wrote:

I can see in the examples that adding multiple files is easy, IF you use strongly typed file paths and file names.

How do I add multiple files that the user has selected at runtime?

I think you mean "fully qualified file paths" , not "strongly typed file paths".  Strong typing is a characteristic of the type system in .NET.  "Strongly typed" is not a descriptor you would apply to a file path itself, or a single variable in a program.