Error 53: Could not load file or assembly

Nov 19, 2009 at 12:27 AM

Hi,

I am new to DotNetZip but it looks great and I am keen to use it in my current project.  I have a program that unpacks ZIP files and checks the contents.  I am using VB.NET 2008 and it works perfectly within the editor and when compiled on my development machine.  However I am unable to deploy it on the target computer.  When I run the app it fails with "Error 53: Could not load file or assembly 'ionic.zip.dll'.  The system cannot find the file specificied."

As far as I can tell I have referenced it correctly and set the Application Files Download Group for Ionic.Zip.dll to 'Required'.  I have also tried installing DotNetZip via the MSI on the target computer.  When I try to manually register ionic.zip.dll (using regsvr32) I get "Ionic.Zip was loaded, but the DLLRegisterServer entry point was not found"

Does anyone have any suggestion on what I could do to resolve this issue.  I appreciate any help you can give.

Richard

Coordinator
Nov 19, 2009 at 4:48 PM

I don't know, but i have some ideas, some things for you to check.

1. The actual name is Ionic.Zip.dll, and I think (not sure) that case is important.  Check the references in your project to be sure they include the proper case.
  2. It could be that the file ionic.zip.dll is being corrupted. Check the size of the file on your development machine, compare against the deployment machine
  3. If you are writing a VB.NET app, you don't need to do regsvr32 .   Why are you doing that?  Are you using COM?
  4. I don't know what you mean by "Application Files Download Group".  What is that?   Is that something you do when you use ClickOnce deployment?

Nov 19, 2009 at 8:56 PM

Thanks Cheeso.

I have checked the case and believe it is okay.  The full Error message I am getting is: