How can I work with ZIP- within ZIP-File and Memorystream

Sep 3, 2009 at 5:00 AM

Hello, good morning or good evening :-)

I am beginner with use the DotNetZip-Library and I am not a professional programmer with Visual Basic, sorry for that and the following question when it is easy to solve (but not for me).

To open a ZIP-File I use the DotNetZip-Library and I can unzip oder zip needed files and more, it is very easy to work.

Now I have a problem, I must open/read a ZIP-File, but within this file I have a further ZIP-File. Within this ZIP-File I must find two XML-Files, the first one is a manifest.xml, the second file is an other XML-File. To open the second xml file, I must read the manifest.xml, search for a TAG within this file to read the name of the second xml file.

In my first question (one or two week ago) I have wrote that it is not allowed for me to extract this file, and so I must use a memory-stream for my operation with this files.

Has anyone a idea how can I read the ZIP-File with a memory-stream, then read the ZIP-File within this memory-stream to open the manifest.xml?

The next problem is, when I have opend the second xml file within the second ZIP-File and change a entry, how can I save back the changes without save the ZIP- or XML-ile on my harddisk?

I an single ZIP-File I can read a XML-File with XDocument.parse(...), this is not the problem. But how can I read an XML-File within a Zip- in Zip-File and save back to the Zip- in Zip-File?

This is a big problem for me on this time and I am very happy when anyone can help me with an idea to do this.

Sorry, I use a translator and I hope that is not to confused for you :-)

Regards,
Maximilian

Coordinator
Sep 3, 2009 at 9:05 AM
Public Sub ModifyToplevelZip
    Using zip1 as ZipFile = ZipFile.Read("Embedded.zip")
        Using ms1 As New MemoryStream
            '' ms1 will hold the original inner zip
            zip1("Payload.zip").Extract(ms1)
            ms1.Seek(0, SeekOrigin.Begin)