Progressbar with BackgroundWorker

Aug 19, 2009 at 6:42 AM

Hi,

first of all many thanks for the great work on DotNetZip. It's a really great Libary to work with.But i'm new to C# an i wonder if there is a way to use a progressbar while the ZIP work is done by a BackgroundWorker. I Found exsamples only for working with threats and not for backgroundworker.

I'm looking forward for any hints and sorry for my bad english :-)

Andreas

Coordinator
Aug 19, 2009 at 6:57 AM

I think it's the same idea.

If you want to plug into the events from ZipFile in order to use that information for progress updates, you will need to register handlers for the ExtractProgress, SaveProgress or ReadProgress events on the ZipFile.  Those events will be invoked on the BackgroundWorker thread.  If want to update elements of the UI, like a progressbar, directly from that thread, you'll need to do the InvokeRequired dance.  You could call the ProgressChanged event from within the {Extract, Save, Read} Progress event handler, and then update the Progressbar within the ProgressChanged event handler.  In that case you won't need the InvokeRequired stuff.  That's the whole point of the BackgroundWorker, I Think. 

But to do that, you will have to wire up the ExtractProgress (Etc) on ZipFile, to the ProgressChanged event for BackgroundWorker.  Not too complicated, but not simple.

What is the reason you are interested in BackgroundWorker, anyway?

Aug 19, 2009 at 7:31 AM

Thanks you for the fast reply.

I'm using backgroundworker because it looked easier for me. I don't need multiple threats.

Where can i find information about registering handlers for the SaveProgress?

Andreas

Aug 19, 2009 at 8:30 AM
Edited Aug 19, 2009 at 9:25 AM