Zipping in asp classic

Aug 13, 2009 at 1:45 PM

I have managed to work out how to read a zip file in asp (VBScript) but cannot extract because (I think) the Extract method will not accept an argument for the baseDirectory (or anything else).

If I could find a way to set the current directory in ASP that would be cool too but doesn't seem to be a way.

When I try to extract using entry.Extract() I get the message Ionic.Zip (0x80131500)
Cannot extract

Any ideas greatly appreciated

Coordinator
Aug 13, 2009 at 3:31 PM

To set the current directory, you can use WScript.Shell object and set the CurrentDirectory property. Not sure if this works in ASP. (I'm not an ASP expert).

Why still writing in ASP?    Why not write the page in ASP.NET?  It would be simpler.  anyway here's the VBSCript code.

Sub listAndMaybeExtractZip()

WScript.echo("")
    Dim zip
    WScript.echo("Instantiating another ZipFile object...")
    Set zip = CreateObject("Ionic.Zip.ZipFile")

WScript.echo("Initialize (Read)...")
    zip.Initialize(filename)

If Not (extractLocation = "") Then
        CreateExtractDirectory(extractLocation)

Set objShell = CreateObject("Wscript.Shell")
        objShell.CurrentDirectory = extractLocation
        WScript.echo("listing and extracting entries...")
    else
        WScript.echo("listing entries...")
    End If

For Each entry in zip
        WScript.echo("  " & entry.FileName)

If Not (extractLocation = "") Then
            ext = Right(entry.FileName,4)
            If (ext = ".vbs") Then
                If Not (password = "") Then
                    entry.Password = password
                End If
                ' extract into current directory
                entry.Extract()
            End If
        End If
    Next

WScript.echo("Disposing...")
    zip.Dispose()

WScript.echo("Done.")
End Sub

Aug 13, 2009 at 11:42 PM