AddFileFromString() method saves text encoded in UTF-8

Jun 5, 2009 at 8:13 AM

Hello.

First, congratulations, your DotNetZip is a great piece of code!

I’m a programmer from Spain (Europe) and I have an issue with your AddFileFromString() method:

The string passed is in Unicode (16 bits-per-character), but you write it (intentional or unintentionally) encoded as UTF-8 into the zipped file. In Spain, we use (as you in the USA) the Windows CP-1252 code page (Western), but in Spanish we use frequently letters beyond A-Z (as the letter «Ñ» in «España», ‘Spain’ in Spanish; other European languages, as French, German, Portuguese, Danish, etc., also use such characters). The ISO-8859-1 part of Windows CP-1252 code page is an 8-bit encoding, so we need only a single byte to store a single character. But when your method transcode the string into UTF-8, character codes 160 to 255 (A0h to FFh in hexadecimal) are stored as two bytes. So the resulting file is longer in bytes than in characters. When those text files are read with programs that expect only ANSI text, strange things happen with the UTF-8 encoded characters: they appears as “España” instead of “España”.

I tried to convert strings to MemoryStream objects and use the AddFileStream() method, and it works, but this forces to me to mantain a lot of MemoryStreams open while adding a lot of text files in the ZIP file (I’m talking of thousands of text files per ZIP file, which is my case), while the AddFileFromString() method not.