using DotNetZip in a webservice

Nov 8, 2010 at 9:09 PM

I'm a bit of a newbie. Not quite sure what I'm doing...

I have a webservice which is passed a string of image filenames I want to zip. I am using the below code which works fine in a traditional aspx page, but doesn't work in my webservice. There are no error messages or anything, but the zip file doesn't start downloading like it would if this code was in a .aspx page. Perhaps its something to do with response.outputStream in the webservice?

HttpContext.Current.Response.Clear()
        HttpContext.Current.Response.BufferOutput = False

Dim c As System.Web.HttpContext = System.Web.HttpContext.Current
        Dim archiveName As String = String.Format("archive-{0}.zip", DateTime.Now.ToString("yyyy-MMM-dd-HHmmss"))
        HttpContext.Current.Response.ContentType = "application/zip"
        HttpContext.Current.Response.AddHeader("content-disposition", "filename=" + archiveName)

Using zip As New ZipFile()

' filesToInclude is a string[] or List
            'zip.AddFiles(filesToInclude, "files")
            zip.AddFile("example_file.jpg", "")

zip.Save(HttpContext.Current.Response.OutputStream)
        End Using
        HttpContext.Current.Response.Close()

Has anyone got dotnetzip working in a webservice? Or is there a work around I can use (I need to use the webservice as a starting point as that is where my list of images comes from).

Also, is using response.outputStream ok if many users will be downloading several large zip files at a time? Does it directly consume system memory?

Thanks for your help!

Coordinator
Nov 9, 2010 at 4:53 PM

Yes, DotNetZip works in a webservice.  The way you're trying to do it is not right.