Streaming Output

Apr 25, 2010 at 7:32 AM

Question, I am attempting to zip large amounts of data automatically on a schedule, the resulting zip file would be too large to store in memory (GBs). Is it possible to stream the resulting zip file out to a stream object as it is generated, and not to store the file contents in memory and then save it all at once? So something like...

I'm new to this library, so please bare with me...

using (ZipFile zip = new ZipFile())
                    {
                        zip.SetOutputStream(xxx);

zip.AddEntry(xxx,yyy);
                        zip.AddEntry(xxx,yyy);
                        zip.AddEntry(xxx,yyy);

zip.Flush();

}

Apr 26, 2010 at 12:25 PM

IIRC, the library supports deferred adding of data - if you add an entry with a stream or a WriteDelegate, the library reads the data of the individual items while saving, so memory usage should be moderate.

Coordinator
Apr 26, 2010 at 6:46 PM
Edited Apr 26, 2010 at 6:48 PM

Yes, you are correct hardcodet, there are options for deferring.

Two interfaces: ZipFile and ZipOutputStream

First, there are two main interfaces for creating zip fiels in DotNEtZip.  One is the ZipFile class, which you've seen.  The other is the ZipOutputStream class.  Let's take them in reverse.

ZipOutputStream

Using ZipOutputStream, you treat the zip as a writable stream.  Your code creates this stream, and then for each entry you want to appear in the zip file, specify the entry name, then write the data for that entry into the stream.  As the data is written it is zipped.  It is a full streaming model.  It is a forward-only write-stream.  The code for that looks like this:

using (var output= new ZipOutputStream(outputFileName))
{
    output.Password = "VerySecret!";
    output.Encryption = EncryptionAlgorithm.WinZipAes256;

foreach (string inputFileName in filesToZip)
    {
        System.Console.WriteLine("file: {0}", inputFileName);

output.PutNextEntry(inputFileName);